My Elinor

1278459036688_f

I think I had a best friend. Our interests usually didn’t match. I love fiction she loves fact. I finger paint, she writes. I stay, she travels. I talked her ears off on endless rabbit trails while she listened and carefully choosing her words not minding the “awkward” silences. She has many friends in places all over the world. I have a few friends locally.

Now that I finally feel comfortable in our friendship it’s changing.It’s been a great year, since she knew she was moving we have made the most of our time. I never knew if I was one of her best friends because she has so many and has a very English way of keeping strong emotions under the surface. I do know that the last few days she has in town she asked to see me more than once and that means the world to me.

I realize now that she is more of a sister to me. She steadied my stormy mind. I made her laugh when she wanted to forget her sorrows. She doesn’t want to cry in front of me and she doesn’t need me to cry in front of her. I’m happy for her new adventure. I’m happy for her new stage of life. And I’m sad for my loss. I know we will keep in touch. I already know I’m going  to write and mail her fun things and be as good a long distance friend I can be. After all is said and done I’m happy to find I have a friend for life.

Sister act: Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet in the 1995 film of Sense and Sensibility.

Leave a Reply

